FAQ's on the PFOA ban in July 2020

As fire protection specialists, we have noticed that the ban has raised a lot of questions. We have collected the most frequently asked questions and would now like to show what our customers are concerned about. With this FAQ we would like to provide more security and transparency around the ban of PFOA in firefighting foams.

More on the ban 

 

What does the ban mean?

The ban on PFOA is primarily aimed at extinguishing agent manufacturers and sets a limit value accordingly. This max. limit value to be complied with is 25ppb PFOA (0.025mg/kg). With regard to the communicated deadlines and the limits published in the Official Journal of the European Union, REGULATION (EU) 2019/1021, we would like to specify the date from which the regulation takes effect in practice: 

In the event that the release of substances containing PFOA can be collected in portable and mobile fire extinguishers (thus neither seeping into the ground nor running into a sewerage system), the fire extinguisher can also continue to be operated for all extinguishing agents placed on the market before 04.07.2020. If this is not guaranteed, they are not permitted from 01.01.2023.

More on the UBA ban 

We refer to proper disposal, exclusively via appropriate disposal specialist companies.

 

What are PFOA?

Per-fluoro-octanoic acid is a substance that belongs to the PFAS family and is found in so-called C8 chemistry and thus also in extinguishing foams. These foams were replaced without exception by so-called "high-purity" C6 foams by renowned German fire extinguisher manufacturers between 2009/2011.

 

What are PFAS?

Per- and polyfluorinated alkyl substances form the family of halogenated fluorosurfactants used in various industries, such as functional clothing, surface coatings, paint and varnish, and in foam extinguishing agents. Many substances from the family, such as PFOS and PFOA, are now banned. Many other substances in the PFAS family are considered to be of concern and are likely to be further regulated.

Click here for our information page on the subject of the PFAS ban for fire extinguishers. 

 

Are the fluorine-free extinguishers dangerous to use?

Jockel fluorine- and solvent-free fire extinguishers can be handled and used in the same way as other conventional foam extinguishers. The fluorine-free Jockel "GREEN" foam extinguishers are easy and intuitive to use, so that even a (any) layman can use these extinguishers without further ado. Furthermore, the fluorine-free Jockel foam extinguishers are designed to have a comparably high extinguishing performance compared to other ordinary extinguishers. For the user, this means a consistent extinguishing efficiency for successfully extinguishing incipient fires. Existing fire extinguishers can therefore be easily replaced with fluorine-free extinguishers without any loss of extinguishing performance. In this context, we always recommend adapting or creating a corresponding risk assessment. 

There is currently a great deal of uncertainty and unfortunately also often half-knowledge on the market. If you need clarification or have general questions, please contact renowned manufacturers of fire extinguishers or extinguishing agents and the fire extinguishers or extinguishing agents and the bvbf association.

 

What is C6 Chemistry?

C6 chemistry is the current state of the art to efficiently extinguish fires and quickly contain the environmental impact associated with the fire. These fire extinguishers are legitimised and may be used without restriction. These can be found in Jockel foam fire extinguishers with the BIO label. However, the entire PFAS family is classified as a concern, so further regulation is very likely in the long term. Among other things, this is also provided for in the legal basis of the European Green Deal, which will in particular regulate the placing on the market of persistent substances (PFAS in general are persistent).

 

What are the sustainable options?

When choosing the right foam extinguishing agent, a long-term view is definitely sensible and economical. We recommend considering alternative, sustainable foams in the decision-making process. For this purpose, JOCKEL suggests the GREEN GENERATION concept, which recommends a holistic consideration via a risk assessment of extinguishing agents when using B-fire risk potentials. Accordingly, the following are also recommended: high-performance water extinguishers, water mist extinguishers and fluorine-free foam extinguishers, to avoid the discharge of harmful or at least worrying substances.

Learn more...

Where is the development going?

A clear trend can be seen in the area of sustainability, as regulation is emerging through constantly evolving analytical methods. In the spirit of promoting this sustainability, Jockel has set standards with the fluorine-free alternatives.

Are foam agents in fire extinguishers prohibited?

The current state of the art provides for C6 foam extinguishing agents. Since March 2016, Jockel has been offering sustainable fluorine-free alternatives. 

 

What is the "Green Deal" ?

To „Green Deal“

 

Are there any older Jockel foam fire extinguishers that may no longer be used or may only be used under certain conditions due to the PFOA concentration > 0.025 mg/kg in the extinguishing agent? If so, which devices are involved?

Answer:

The fire extinguisher is a system requiring maintenance, which is subject to recurring maintenance. With this maintenance, on the one hand the functionality and safety of the extinguisher is to be ensured, but also the state of the art in the case through the extinguishing agent exchange to the state of a C6 chemistry. Means that, under the premise that JOCKEL 

portable and mobile fire extinguishers have been properly maintained every 2 years in accordance with the applicable regulations, it can be assumed that there are no longer any devices in circulation that do not comply with the applicable regulations.

Reason:

Since 2010 at the latest, we have only been using foam extinguishing agents that are below the limit value and can therefore be used without restriction for fire fighting. Since the maximum service life of foam extinguishing agents is 6 or 8 years, the extinguishing agent had to be replaced long ago even in older units where an extinguishing agent with too high a PFOA content was still being used. When the extinguishing agent is replaced, the unit is automatically changed over to a foam extinguishing agent that meets the current requirements. This must also be recognisable by the change in the extinguishing agent information (name or approval/recognition or conformity confirmation number) in the labelling image (extinguishing agent sticker). Therefore, we must assume that the Jockel devices on the market all comply with the currently applicable regulations and laws and may be used for fire fighting without restrictions.

To the listing

* These regulations refer to the laws applicable in Germany, deviations to other EU member states are possible.

 

Reference to further links:

www.jockel.de

Umweltbundesamt

BFR Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung

Bundesverband Betrieblicher Brandschutz Werkfeuerwehrverband Deutschland e.V. 

Bayerisches Staatsministerium des Innern und für Integration 

European Green Deal

Supplementary FAQ ́s

FAQ's on the subject of PFOA

KATEGORIEN
NEUESTE ARTIKEL
Jockel x Interschutz 2022

Finally the time has come again, the Interschutz opens its doors. After the Interschutz was postponed due to Corona, we can now participate again in person.

FAQ's on the PFOA ban in July 2020

As fire protection specialists, we have noticed that the ban has raised a lot of questions. We have collected the most frequently asked questions and would now like to show what our customers are concerned about.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Sitemap

PFAS regulation in
firefighting foams.

FAQ’s zum Verbot der PFOA im Juli 2020

Wir als Brandschutzspezialisten haben festgestellt, dass das Verbot sehr viele Fragen aufgeworfen hat. Die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen haben wir gesammelt und möchten nun einmal aufzeigen was unsere Kunden beschäftigt. Mit diesem FAQ möchten wir für mehr Sicherheit und Transparenz um das Verbot von PFOA in Löschschäumen sorgen.

Mehr zum Verbot 

 

Was bedeutet das Verbot?

Das Verbot von PFOA richtet sich in erster Linie an die Löschmittelhersteller und legt entsprechend einen Grenzwert fest. Dieser max. einzuhaltende Grenzwert beträgt 25ppb PFOA (0,025mg/kg). In Bezug auf die kommunizierten Fristen und die im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union, VERORDNUNG (EU) 2019/1021, möchten wir den Termin, ab wann die Verordnung in der Praxis greift präzisieren: 

Im Falle, dass die Freisetzung von PFOA-haltigen Stoffen bei trag- und fahrbaren Feuerlöschern aufgefangen werden kann (somit weder im Erdreich versickern oder in eine Kanalisation läuft), kann auch der Feuerlöscher für alle Löschmittel, die vor dem 04.07.2020 in Verkehr gebracht wurden, weiter betrieben werden. Sollte dies nicht gewährleistet werden, so sind diese ab dem 01.01.2023 nicht zulässig.

Mehr zum Verbot des UBA 

Wir verweisen auf eine ordnungsgemäße Entsorgung, ausschließlich über entsprechende Entsorgungs-Fachbetriebe.

 

Was sind PFOA?

Per-Fluor-Oktan-Säure ist ein Stoff, welcher der PFAS-Familie angehört und sich in sogenannter C8-Chemie wiederfindet und somit ebenfalls in Löschschäumen. Diese Schäume wurden von renommierten deutschen Feuerlöschgeräte-Herstellern zwischen 2009/2011 ausnahmslos von sogenannten „hochreinen“ C6-Schäumen ersetzt.

 

Was sind PFAS?

Per- und polyfluorierte Alkylsubstanzen bilden die Familie aus halogenisierten Fluortensiden, die in verschiedenen Industrien Anwendung findet, wie z. B. Funktionskleidung, Oberflächenbeschichtungen, Farbe und Lacken sowie in Schaumlöschmitteln. Viele Stoffe aus der Familie, wie z. B. PFOS und PFOA sind mittlerweile verboten. Viele andere Stoffe aus der PFAS-Familie gelten als besorgniserregend und werden wahrscheinlich weiter reguliert werden.

 

Sind die fluorfreien Löscher in der Anwendung gefährlich?

Jockel fluor- und lösungsmittelfreie Feuerlöscher sind in der Handhabung und Nutzung genauso zu verwenden wie andere herkömmliche Schaumlöscher. Die fluorfreien Jockel „GREEN“-Schaumfeuerlöscher sind einfach und intuitiv zu handhaben, sodass auch ein (jede/r) Laie diese Löscher ohne weiteres einsetzen kann. Des Weiteren sind die fluorfreien Jockel-Schaumlöscher so konzipiert, dass sie gegenüber anderen gewöhnlichen Löschern eine vergleichbar hohe Löschleistung aufweisen. Für den Anwender bedeutet das eine gleichbleibende Löscheffizienz zum erfolgreichen Löschen von Entstehungsbränden. Die im Bestand stehenden Feuerlöscher können somit unkompliziert gegen fluorfreie Feuerlöscher ausgetauscht werden, ohne jegliche Löschleistungseinbußen. Wir empfehlen in dem Zusammenhang immer eine entsprechende Gefährdungsbeurteilung anzupassen oder zu erstellen. 

Es gibt aktuell große Verunsicherung und leider auch oft Halbwissen am Markt. Bei Klärungsbedarf sowie allgemeinen Fragen wenden Sie sich an renommierte Hersteller von Feuerlöschgeräten oder Löschmitteln sowie den Verband bvbf.

 

Was ist C6-Chemie?

C6-Chemie ist der aktuelle Stand der Technik, um effizient Brände zu löschen und die mit dem Brand verbundene Umweltbelastung schnell einzudämmen. Diese Feuerlöscher sind legitimiert und dürfen ohne Einschränkung zum Einsatz kommen. Diese finden sich bei Jockel Schaumfeuerlöschern mit dem BIO-Label. Allerdings ist die gesamte PFAS Familie als besorgniserregend eingestuft, so dass langfristig weitere Regulierungen sehr wahrscheinlich sind. Dies sieht u. a. auch die Gesetzesgrundlage des europäischen Green Deals vor, die insbesondere das Inverkehrbringen von persistenten Stoffen (PFAS im Allgemeinen sind persistent) regeln wird.

 

Welche nachhaltigen Optionen gibt es?

Bei der Wahl des richtigen Schaumlöschmittels ist eine langfristige Betrachtung durchaus sinnvoll und wirtschaftlich. Wir empfehlen in der Entscheidungsfindung alternative, nachhaltige Schäume in Betracht zu ziehen. JOCKEL regt hierzu das Konzept GREEN GENERATION an, bei dem die gesamtheitliche Betrachtung über eine Gefährdungsbeurteilung Löschmittel beim Einsatz von B-Brand Risikopotenzialen empfohlen wird. Demnach sind auch empfehlenswert: Hochleistungs-Wasserlöscher, Wassernebellöscher und fluorfreie Schaumlöscher, zur Vermeidung der Austragung von schädlichen oder zumindest besorgniserregenden Stoffen.

Mehr Erfahren…

Wo geht die Entwicklung hin?

Ein klarer Trend ist im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit zu erkennen, da sich eine Reglementierung durch ständig weiter entwickelte Analyseverfahren, abzeichnet. Im Sinne der Förderung dieser Nachhaltigkeit hat Jockel Maßstäbe mit den fluorfreien Alternativen gesetzt.

Sind Schaummittel in Feuerlöschern verboten?

Der heutige Stand der Technik sieht C6-Schaumlöschmittel vor. Seit März 2016 bietet Jockel nachhaltige fluorfreie Alternativen. 

 

Was ist der „Green Deal“ ?

Zum „Green Deal“

 

Gibt es Jockel Schaum Feuerlöscher älteren Baudatums, die aufgrund der PFOA Konzentration > 0,025 mg/kg im Löschmittel nicht mehr oder nur unter Auflagen weiterverwendet werden dürfen? Wenn ja, um welche Geräte handelt es sich?

Antwort:

Der Feuerlöscher ist eine wartungsbedürftige Anlage, die einer wiederkehrenden Instandhaltung unterliegt. Mit dieser Instandhaltung ist zum einen die Funktionalität und Sicherheit des Löschgerätes zu gewährleisten, aber auch der Stand der Technik in dem Fall durch den Löschmitteltausch auf den Stand einer C6-Chemie. Bedeutet, dass unter der Prämisse, dass JOCKEL 

trag- und fahrbare Feuerlöscher entsprechend den geltenden Vorschriften alle 2 Jahre ordnungsgemäß gewartet wurden, davon ausgegangen werden kann, dass sich keine Geräte mehr im Umlauf befinden dürften, welches nicht den geltenden Vorschriften entsprechen.

Begründung:

Seit spätestens 2010 setzen wir nur noch Schaummittel ein, welches unter dem Grenzwert liegt und somit ohne Einschränkung zur Brandbekämpfung eingesetzt werden darf. Da die maximale Nutzungsdauer der Schaumlöschmittel bei 6 bzw. 8 Jahren liegt, musste auch bei älteren Geräten, bei denen noch ein Löschmittel mit zu hohem PFOA Anteil verwendet wurde, das Löschmittel längst erneuert werden. Mit dem Löschmitteltausch erfolgte dann durch die Neufüllung automatisch eine Umstellung auf ein Schaumlöschmittel, welches den aktuellen Anforderungen entspricht. Dieses muss auch zu erkennen sein an der Änderung der Löschmittelangabe (Name bzw. Zulassungs-/Anerkennungs- oder Konformitätsbestätigungs-Nr.) im Beschriftungsbild (Löschmittelaufkleber). Daher müssen wir davon ausgehen, dass die im Markt befindlichen Jockel Geräte alle den zurzeit geltenden Vorschriften und Gesetzen entsprechen und uneingeschränkt zur Brandbekämpfung eingesetzt werden dürfen.

Zur Auflistung

* Diese Regulierungen beziehen sich auf die in Deutschland geltenden Gesetze, Abweichungen zu anderen EU-Mitgliedsländern sind möglich.

 

Verweis auf weiterführende Links:

www.jockel.de

Umweltbundesamt

BFR Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung

Bundesverband Betrieblicher Brandschutz Werkfeuerwehrverband Deutschland e.V. 

Bayerisches Staatsministerium des Innern und für Integration 

Europäischer Green Deal

Ergänzende FAQ ́s

FAQ´s zum Thema PFOA

KATEGORIEN
NEUESTE ARTIKEL
Jockel x Interschutz 2022

Endlich ist es wieder so weit, die Interschutz öffnet Ihre Tore. Nachdem die Interschutz aufgrund von Corona verschoben wurde, können wir nun wieder persönlich teilnehmen.

FAQ’s zum Verbot der PFOA im Juli 2020

Wir als Brandschutzspezialisten haben festgestellt, dass das Verbot sehr viele Fragen aufgeworfen hat. Die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen haben wir gesammelt und möchten nun einmal aufzeigen was unsere Kunden beschäftigt.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Sitemap